vrkrot.blogg.se

How to get data of broken wd my book essential 1tb
How to get data of broken wd my book essential 1tb












how to get data of broken wd my book essential 1tb
  1. HOW TO GET DATA OF BROKEN WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FULL
  2. HOW TO GET DATA OF BROKEN WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB PASSWORD

I’ve now tried using the inside Caviar Green 1TB(Advanced Format) drive through a SATA to USB converter, but the format is still not recognized and it turns up as an unallocated file system. Unfortunately this edition has no eSATA or FireWire adaptability, so without the USB I’m forced to take the casing apart and retrieve the drive inside. The drive worked perfectly fine up until that point, and smart tests detect that the drive is still OK. The encryption used as claimed is AES 256 bit that means the key is 32 bytes of the 448 bytes.I’ve got a 1TB My Book Essential, and I’m wondering how I can access the data without USB, as the jack within the My Book has broken off from the board.

HOW TO GET DATA OF BROKEN WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FULL

I have a full raw image of the drive so I guess it is safe to experiment with it because I can restore that image at anytime.

HOW TO GET DATA OF BROKEN WD MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB PASSWORD

Anyway I do not think that WD are really stupid or naive, I guess even the stored encryption key is encrypted based on the provided password (hopefully not). There is a risk with buying new enclosure that the firmware of the newer enclosure would be recent and not like the one I have and then I would be in pain again to revert it to the firmware version I have. I compared the VCD of some locked/unlocked states and found only 448 bytes of one sector that change, as I showed in the previous post. OK DR, that is what I have discovered and mentioned in the previous post so every time you reset the password (by formatting) a new key is generated. Now you are working "arsy-versy", think more and widely. When you replaced those sector you are not just removed the password request, you have changed whole decrypting key.ĭon't work with pacient drive not to spoil something.ĭid you bought new same enclouser for this game?

how to get data of broken wd my book essential 1tb

I noticed that that data are encrypted in 16 bytes blocks. I would try again but with a sector with locking information for which I know the password. I replaced that sector with another sector that I got after unlocking the drive, I got the drive unlocked but I cannot see my data. But at the same time the password to lock the drive is not used to encrypt the data so this means at least in theory it should be possible to reset that password at least to a known password value. My conclusion is that the USB controller encodes/encrypts all the data written to the drive so it is not possible to retrieve that data without bypassing the USB controller. When I tried to connect it via the USB enclosure again I noticed that when the drive prompts for the password the password hint does not exist anymore, so my guess is that the password section was overwritten. Using mhdd I could not see the disk is locked so I did a stupid thing that I locked it then unlocked it again. I tried to check whether the drive is locked or not, so I connected it directly via a SATA cable to the PC. I tried to get the drive out of the USB enclosure and it turned out the drive inside the enclosure is just a 1TB WD caviar green WD10EADS. For some reason I cannot unlock the drive, even though I am quite sure about the password I use but it says the password is invalid. I have a Mybook Essential Western Digital external hard drive.














How to get data of broken wd my book essential 1tb